Children of Addiction

“I live with an alcoholic mother and it’s like every day when she starts to drink I lose her, so everyday I am grieving. I am coping by going to group and individual counseling.” High School Sophomore

 

“My dad is an alcoholic. I don’t know how to deal with it but I try not to think about it because whenever I do I think about of death. I don’t know what to do!” High School Senior

 

“what can I do when one of my family members drinks a lot? I am really worried and I cry about it a lot?”  High School Freshman

 

These are among the many notes I receive from students after I deliver my presentation, Teens Coping with Grief, Loss and Other Tough Stuff.

 

A great web site with a lot of helpful information is:  http://www.nacoa.net   (National Association for Children of Alcoholics)

 

 

Here is a wonderful article by Claudia Black who has written much in the field of addiction in the past 30 years that you will find on http://www.nacoa.net:

Children of Addiction

via Children of Addiction.

via Children of Addiction.

Leave a Reply

