Four Things an Alcoholic Could Learn From a Normie | The Fix

Normies don’t have the slightest clue how much we alcoholics are watching them. They come up with nonalcoholic drinks with disconcerting names and throw away wine. But they are fascinating.Lessons to learn…My husband and I are at a birthday party. This is a rare event, as I would much rather be at home on the couch watching Nurse Jackie, but we both love the guest of honor, and I am being an adult.The husband is standing next to me, but is a million miles away through intense conversation with a friend about their alma mater’s football team. He has a look of pure bliss on his face as they both gloat over the last win. Their heads are bent together as if they were preparing questions for the press conference, and endless analysis of play-action passes fly over my head. I’m okay. I’m imagining how I would like to redo our bathroom. As of yet, I have not really engaged in polite conversation with anyone, so I am mentally picking out the perfect grey paint and trying to figure out how I can smush a his and hers sink into a space the size of a bath towel. So far, the party is going great.

Source: Four Things an Alcoholic Could Learn From a Normie | The Fix

Leave a Reply

