An alcoholic’s journey: why ‘controlled’ drinking is a mirage – Ockham’s Razor – ABC Radio National (Australian Broadcasting Corporation)

Let me put some of my cards on the table.I turn 69 on Christmas Day. And if I survive until Australia Day I will have had no alcohol or other drugs for the last 44 years.  This means that I’ve had 44 more years on the planet than I would have otherwise had.Like a lot of teenagers who are prone to addiction, I got into trouble with alcohol at an early age. But I don’t regret starting drinking. A quick précis of my life is that if I hadn’t found alcohol at 14, I would have most likely suicided at 17. But if I hadn’t stopped drinking at 24, I wouldn’t have made 25.

Source: An alcoholic’s journey: why ‘controlled’ drinking is a mirage – Ockham’s Razor – ABC Radio National (Australian Broadcasting Corporation)

Leave a Reply

